Skip to content

Wedding in Review


Mike Landis Photographer

We are home. It’s hard to believe, the engagement seemed to drag weeks out into an eternity and the wedding was never going to come. But now it’s passed, and two weeks ago we were rehearsing! Thanks to Bry’s parents for the yummy and so very nice rehearsal dinner!

For a bit of a brief recap…maybe more will come later, once the pro pics arrive…and maybe not ๐Ÿ™‚

The day of the wedding was cloudless and hot! We got all fancied up, took a million pictures, were married, danced, ate, and talked the night away. Having had at least some prior knowledge, if not input in what the key players wore I thought everyone looked fabulous. Kenzie was the best flower girl ever and loved her wagon! (To bad it bounced horribly on the flag stone path at the rehearsal; though Andy carrying her made it even cuter, I think!) I almost teared up as we walked back down the aisle as Mr. and Mrs. to Somewhere Over the Rainbow. That song always reminds me of my dear Mommom, who is up in Heaven now. It made it seem a bit more real that she could have been there.ย  The few pictures from guests I’ve seen made the bubble send of look so great. The receiving line was hot, but so worth it for me to see everyone (almost) and thank them for coming. Our first dance was a bit funny (guess we should have practiced with a long skirt on, but at least we got the dip in at the end! Lesson learned) The photobooth was a big hit, pictures from that will be uploaded to facebook soon (hehe), and the candy bar was pretty much obliterated! The band was probably my favorite part of the things I planned for the reception. I actually ate some of my dinner (yum) and thought that cake was super yummy ๐Ÿ™‚ The father-daughter dance was fun, I was so glad we picked a song that was sentimental to us (my mom used to sing it to me when I was little) but was still an upbeat song. We really just enjoyed being so surrounded by the love of our friends and family. It’s an overwhelming thing, a very good overwhelming thing. It really hit me again when I was looking through the guest books. The love that is captured there in incredible.

I’ll never be able to thank the Bridal Party enough for standing up with us. The girls were a total blast and helped make stressful times fun and relaxed. I still haven’t heard much about the boys shenanigans, but I do know that they provided a lot of the muscle to get things done. Before long it was all over and time to leave. It was hard to say goodbye. I hugged my parents each probably 3 times while trying to leave, and when I hugged my Grandpop goodbye Nana had told me he cried at the ceremony. That got me a bit teary eyed. Hugging my brothers, and my sister, and my parents for the last time before we left was really hard, but we did it and then Bryan and I piled into his car. The aforementioned bridal party had drawn all over the windows which provided a lot of comic relief. We had Just Married and BT+CcT on the back window (C was crossed off and replaced with the T and we received lots of honks driving around), All you need is Love, with the love crossed out and a $ sign in front of it, and hearts, smiley faces, and the driver side window just about completely obliterated minus two tiny eye holes. Of course I can’t forget the pink fuzzy steering wheel and rear-view window covers we were gifted with…all I can say is watch out to all our siblings (since none are married yet!)

Looking back, it was better than I imagined, and so us. I’m overwhelmed with gratitude when I think of the guests who showered us with love and their time to celebrate with us, the bridal party and close friends who helped make it run smoothly in the background, the acceptance Bryan and I each felt being welcomed formally into each others immediate and extended families, the amazing wedding my parents threw us, and the glorious weather God shared with us that day. It was a wonderful day and I wouldn’t change a thing about it.

-Mrs.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Shawna #

    It WAS a great day. Loved the music, loved the guest book, loved the Bible! All of it was just soooooo classy, chic, and elegant!! Thank you for letting us celebrate your big day with you!

    Like

    June 1, 2012
    • sailboatmiss #

      thank you! glad you and the fam enjoyed your day!

      Like

      June 2, 2012
  2. janet c van dame #

    Welcome back, Newlyweds…’got me hooked’ on your ‘blog’…we wish you EVERY GOOD THING..as you begin your new life…we, too, enjoyed every minute of your very beautiful wedding day. (Now back to ‘unpacking’, I guess….love the outside of your home…and waiting to see the inside when you two and ‘it’ are ‘ready for the tour’. Take care, and thanks for sharing. Lovingly, UB&AJ

    Like

    June 1, 2012
    • sailboatmiss #

      Thanks Auntie Jani and Uncle Barrett! Glad you enjoyed it as well. Hopefully I’ll be getting pictures up soon..it’s really starting to come together ๐Ÿ™‚
      love you!

      Like

      June 2, 2012

Leave a Reply

