Skip to content

Saving Money a Crazy Way


If you are new to crazyamazinglife, you don’t know that my husband and I recently relocated from Pennsylvania to Connecticut, also known as the land of the taxes. Really, this state will tax you on just about anything. We realized that to transfer our registration, and licenses over to CT would cost about $400 dollars up front (registration tax, license transfer fee, etc) and $400 dollars annually (give or take some for taxes on your vehicle each year). Also, Bry’s work recently transferred 100 people from their one location to the other and now the location Bry works has a parking lot at capacity, but the transfers aren’t over, another 100 people are coming in next week. What’s that mean for Bry? Either he needs to A) get in earlier to get a spot, B) get there when the lot is full, drive 20 minutes to the other location and wait for a shuttle (thereby being late to work), or C) buy a scooter. He would never consider being late, so he decided to go for the scooter.

Those of you who are Facebook friends may have seen the photo of the scooter last week. The scooter is a TaoTao50. It’s small, under 50cc which means it’s street legal without registration or a license plate. You do need to be 16+ and have a driver’s license. He convinced me (ok i wanted to learn but was nervous) to drive and I loved it! Perfect for tooling back and forth to work, and to run errands! In fact I fit a shirt, and jacket I’d bought for Bry, some veggies I bought at a farm stand, mail to buy postage for, several grocery items, my purse, and a comfy pair of flip flops in the seat. Basically, so much stuff I needed two trips to carry it inside! Did i mention I loved it?

This area really is perfect for this sort of travel too, pretty populated, and we are very centrally located. I can legal ride in the bike path, no more parallel parking downtown, and 100 miles to the gallon. We wear helmets, the scooter doesn’t go above 25, and we only take it on secondary roads. The savings on gas alone would justify the cost of the scooter and not paying taxes on it was just a crazy big bonus. So what did I do? Start searching for my own.

In fact we are even going to sell my car (it doesn’t do well in the snow anyways). Snow! Now you are wondering what this crazy person is going to do when it snows. Well, my walk to work is 20 minutes. I timed it in the heat of a 90 degree day. Brutal. Anyways, I have several pairs of sturdy boots, and plenty of warm layers (hello knits!) and I have practice walking that far from when I lived in England. At least for now, while we are two people in our twenties this is perfect for us. And the resale value is great, so no problems there, should a third person appear. Of course, I didn’t want the sporty, manly(is that possible?) looking scooterΒ  that Bryan has (I think so), so I started searching Craigslist.

At first I thought I wanted a Vespa like scooter, and the same company that made Bryan’s scooter sells those style’s as well, in fact we were all set to get a blue one tomorrow when I saw the perfect listing. It was a 1982 Suzuki FA50. Yellow (fave color)! Mint Condition. Sat in a basement for a lot of the past 30 years. The seller brought it by Tuesday night and it ran like a dream. It’s the perfect blend of cute and vintage and I loved it. The price was better than right and included delivery. Of course, mint is relative in running machines. It needed the carburetor to be cleaned and, ever the engineer, Bry needed to tinker around with it for a couple hours before he’d let me take it to work (and before I’d comfortably ride it on the road, but it runs perfectly and I’m so excited. My boss saw this scooter yesterday (it’s technically a noped. No pedals, and basically a bike frame) and started talking about getting one. It’s that perfect in an area like this, and she is 65!

Anyone need a car? πŸ™‚ Selling a 2005 Chevy Cobalt, 2 door. 53,000 miles. In August it will make it’s way back to PA via my parents and will be sold. I’ll be sad to see it go, but it’s time. Good bye Silver Bunny. We had some good times.

Anything ‘crazy’ you’ve done? Because this is crazyamazinglife and we scoot to work now πŸ™‚

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Leigh #

    Jon and I shared a car for six years. It was easy when we lived in small cities that had half-way decent public transportation, but harder here in rural PA. (I know people call it suburbs, but since we live next to cows and horses and it’s 15 minutes to a department store, to me it’s country.) We’ve had two cars since 2004. When our almost 200,000 miles-on-it Saturn goes, we aren’t planning on replacing it. Jon and I can both walk to work, so it would just be a minor inconvenience once in a while. Looking back, I only once or twice didn’t get to go where I wanted, and it was a good lesson for me in patience and planning. It also showed me how sacrificing Jon was to always try to put me first.

    Like

    July 20, 2012
    • sailboatmiss #

      aw, Leigh, yes. leaving that area of PA I realize just how rural it is! And I thought Messiah was rural before! haha. It certainly has to be the right area to be able to do what you need to with this sort of transport…or some may say lack thereof. I think getting rid of the car and walking/riding more will help with fitness too! Bry already says my legs are looking leaner πŸ™‚ Our boys are sweethearts πŸ™‚

      Like

      July 20, 2012
  2. Your moped is so similar to mine! Same era, same style, same “sat-alone-for-30-years-brand-new” story. You’ve inspired me to have Dustin fix it for me. So much fun!

    Like

    July 20, 2012
    • sailboatmiss #

      yes do it!! Get Dustin to fix it up for you!! It’s been so much fun, especially in the heat, I don’t have to get into a hot-baked-all-day-in-the-sun car!

      Like

      July 20, 2012
      • Ok, you’ve convinced me! πŸ™‚ Maybe someday we’ll live in the same area again and we can start a moped gang haha!

        Like

        July 20, 2012
      • sailboatmiss #

        I’m so in! lol

        Like

        July 20, 2012
  3. Why would you sell the car in PA? You have a busy street in CT and used cars go for more up here!

    Like

    July 20, 2012
    • sailboatmiss #

      mostly because it’s easy. my grandfather is on a dealer’s license. but I could look into that? Would we have a problem because it’s a PA plate? That’s a lot of it as well.

      Like

      July 21, 2012

Leave a Reply

