Skip to content

It’s Sweater Season!


Oh, how I love sweater season!!! Maybe it’s just because I knit, or maybe it’s because my birthday is in the fall. Or it’s because I love picking and carving pumpkins, fresh cider, cider donuts, pretty leaves,  cooler temps, and the promise of the holiday season to come! What is your favorite thing about fall?

I’ve been getting backed up with any number of things, and haven’t managed to get myself into WordPress lately (it’s dusty!) I have however been painting, and that’s what I set out to do, so I don’t count it all a loss! (still need to photograph those paintings though!)

In fact every day I haven’t been working in the shop I’ve been painting. Honestly, I can’t believe I’ve been sticking with it this far! I have several applications out there to get my work into shows (maybe one or two will pan out!) and I have several pieces in the works right now. I’ve also been busy designing marketing for the shop ( and i don’t even really enjoy graphic design). Booklets of works on sale, trying to amp up our social media outreach, and designing post cards. Not to mention all the framing I’m doing! All of my college classes with Don Forsythe and Daniel Finch have well paid off….I feel like I can do most of it in my sleep!

Life hasn’t been all work and painting though. Bry and I managed to get to a Colgate football game and cheer on my brother with a large amount of family. Bry’s parents came up for his dad’s birthday and we spent a gorgeous day at Mystic Seaport, my mom’s sister and her family swung by on their way through New England, and we are just about ready to make our first trip back to PA since the wedding. It will be great to be home for my birthday, and to see everyone! I just can’t wait. We also got to get together with a contingent from Messiah. As part of their Into the City networking event they stopped off in New Haven and we were invited to dinner. It was great to connect to other alum of Messiah, and meet and encourage some seniors who are interested in the area.

We still get fish each week from Gabe the Fish Babe, and we are going to continue! It’s seriously the best! And we get it in the mail now, so I don’t even need to go to the store on Thursdays anymore. You really should consider signing up! They ship all over the US now, and it comes very well chilled. We haven’t gotten a single thing we didn’t like.

We’ve caved and turned the heat on, but really just to take the edge off. Mom would be proud, I’m actually wearing socks or slippers around the house (she doesn’t like bare feet when it’s cold outside). I finally got my fall clothes out too.

Still on my to-do list is figure out how to make a gallery of works here on wordpress. Anyone wordpress savvy?

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. I participated in Messiah’s Into the City this past spring. It was great! I got to speak on a panel and everything. Glad you got to connect too 🙂 And I might have to check out Gabe the Fish Babe…

    Would you be interested in a craft swap? I’ve been looking for a friend who knits to make me a chunky infinity loop scarf this fall, in exchange for a piece of jewelry. Let me know what you think!

    Xo,
    Ali

    Like

    October 12, 2012
    • sailboatmiss #

      ali..let’s discuss this trade. i’m interested 🙂

      Like

      October 13, 2012
  2. sailboatmiss #

    You really should check her out…it’s all locally and sustainably caught…helps support the small fisherman. We’ve signed up for the fish/shellfish package and have purchased 12 weeks so far…we’ve gotten oysters, cherrystone clams, littleneck clams, dungeness crab, scallops, mussels, porgy, mahi mahi, fluke, flounder, marlin, scup, tuna, and a bunch of others i’m blanking on. they give you a recipe for the fish as well, and all of them have been good as well.

    I’m interested in the idea of the swap. let me think about it a bit and get back to you!
    xxoo
    Courtney

    Like

    October 12, 2012
  3. Leigh #

    I was just thinking today I need to get back to my blog. I feel like I’m just now settling into the school year. I’m glad to hear you have been painting, that’s great. In answer to your question, I like fall because it’s pretty-lol.

    Like

    October 12, 2012

Leave a Reply

