Skip to content

Pottage Parmentier: Mashed Potato Soup


In my affinity for all things foodie-culture I am a bit obsessed with cookbooks. I read cookbooks. As if they are novels. I devour from from cover to cover trying to eek out everything I can from them in my challenge of preparing simply delicious amazing foods. 99% of the time I change the recipe with my own blends of spices, different cooking techniques, crazy ingredients for the heck of it. I can’t actually think of a recipe I have not changed in one way or another. All this to say that this is just a way of life, one of many creative expressions, not intended for the blog. However, after a scraped pot, third-party opinions, and a second batch made in less than 24 hours, this recipe must be shared. After all, as a good friend stated ‘Good potato soup is like mashed potatoes on steroids’.

I found it in my battered, worn, thrift store copy of Mastering the Art of French Cooking, by Simone Beck, Louisette Bertholle, and Julia Child.

Pottage Parmentier [Leek or Onion and Potato Soup]
2 quarts (serves 6-8 people) or in the case of me and my friends 5 people who didn’t have enough, simply because I wanted leftovers!

You will need two quarts of water in a large pot. To the water add 1lb. of peeled and sliced potatoes, and 1 lb. of diced onions(the recipe calls for peeks, or yellow onions, I obviously chose yellow onions but added an additional shallot on top of the pound of onions. Add 1 tb. salt (I eyeballed it and probably only put about 1 1/2 teaspoons in, and didn’t miss it). Let simmer for 45 minutes partially covered. It smells like onions for the first 20 minutes but it quickly dissipates once the onions breakdown in the soup, and it fooled even an onion-hater into eating 3 bowls full! (Hence why we needed more.)

Mash the potatoes and onions, or blend if an even consistency is preferred (I blended). Check the seasoning. (I didn’t do anything here and after I finished scraping the soup back into the pot I was actually tempted to lick the spatula clean like one does used to do with the cake batter. I guess you could have added salt or pepper or really anything else here but I thought it was practically heavenly)

Before serving bring back to a simmer. Add 4-6 tablespoons of cream (I used half-and-half since I had that on hand you can also use 3 tbs. of butter). Garnish with minced parsley or chives.

To fully portray the mashed potatoes in a cup idea I had bacon crumbles, cheddar cheese, and chives ready for my friends to add to their soups. Personally, I didn’t have to add anything.

This meal was a bargain. Water, onions, potatoes, and a little half and half. 4 tablespoons of fat in 2 quarts means this is one healthy and filling soup! Like I mentioned earlier once our friends decimated it we made a second batch that we are currently hoarding using for lunches this week.

It’s cheap, easy, and absolutely amazing. You will never want canned potato soup again. Gather some family or friends and enjoy!

Let me know if you give it a try!

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ellen #

    Sounds delicious! I’ll definitely try! If you had a pic up, I would pin it! 🙂

    Like

    October 15, 2012
    • sailboatmiss #

      hahah. i will have to learn to post pics more easily. right now the steps to get a pic up deters me! I will learn though! Let me know how it goes when you do try it 🙂

      Like

      October 15, 2012
  2. Dawn Caracio #

    I wonder if you could add some mushrooms or clams! Sounds good;)

    Like

    October 15, 2012
    • sailboatmiss #

      you definitely could. the book talks about this being a base soup for anything…you could add veggies, seafood, etc. Specifically carrots, and string beans. I think I’d add a different combo 🙂

      Like

      October 15, 2012
  3. Sounds delicious Courtney! I am just like you… reading cookbooks like novels and always changing the recipe.. I love being adventurous & creative!

    Like

    October 15, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. It Can’t Be Better than Mom’s | Bottled Sunshine

Leave a Reply

