Skip to content

Raw Oysters & Pictures


I know I’ve been talking about how much we’ve loved being a part of our fish co-op. But really we have. And, to make things even cooler, the chick who runs it, read the nice things I’d written about Gabe the Fish Babe, and mailed me a cute t-shirt. I’m thrilled. When I opened the rest of the package I was not so thrilled. You see, there were oysters waiting to be eaten in there. The last time we had oysters we ate two raw, just shucked and knocked back with their liquor. They were way to salty for my taste, so I looked up a cooked oyster recipe on-line. I found one with chili, lime, and butter and thought that would be good. No dice.

Last night, the recipe included in the package for the raw oysters sounded like it had potential. It had enough other things going on to add some crunch, some other flavors, and cut the saltiness. Add to that, and the bizarre fact that I actually had all of the ingredients on hand and we were in luck! Like always, I did tweak the recipe a bit, I’ll post the original with my adjustments as well.

Raw Oysters with Cucumber Mignonette

1 cup of rice wine vinegar (I used a half cup)

1 shallot minced

1 inch of fresh ginger, peeled and minced (I had this on hand but didn’t feel like peeling it so instead I used 1/2 tsp. of ground ginger from Penzy’s my favorite spice company ever that I was introduced to by Bryan’s uncle/aunt.)

1/2 cucumber, peeled and diced (I had exactly that)

1 handful of freshly chopped cilantro

ground black pepper to taste (instead of mixing it into the mignonette I simply cracked the pepper over the oysters before eating)

Mix ingredients and let stand for an hour. While you are waiting shuck the oysters, preserving as much of their liquor as possible. Shucking is actually quite easy, easier that shucking clams, though both are easy. I don’t even have the proper knife for either, I just use the same old old paring knife, I’m sure it would be much easier if I actually purchased the proper tool! Once the oysters are shucked, and enough time has passed for the flavors to meld in the mignonette, (or you just can’t wait anymore!) spoon the cucumber mignonette over the oysters. It really was delicious and the next time raw oysters come in our package from Gabe the Fish Babe, I’ll be more than prepared!

In sum, tonight we had oysters on the half-shell. Raw oysters. And they were great! Would you eat raw oysters? Would you eat them if you prepared them yourself? Are you glad I finally got a picture on here with minimal hassle to myself?

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ellen #

    Beautiful pic that makes me drool! I absolutely LOVE raw oysters! I have a policy of only eating them seaside & only if I really know they are super fresh. Noone else in the family will eat them with me (Craig knows way too much about Microbiology. Lol He convinced me to quit eating Texas Gulf oysters.) I prefer them simple & with a good quality tartar sauce, but I love the little jewels grilled, smoked or fixed any way (except those strange pounded-out-flat-and-fried ones in PA.)

    Like

    October 19, 2012
    • sailboatmiss #

      this is the first time i’d had them that i liked them….never tried in a restaurant except deep fried and that just didn’t do it for me! Did you know oysters have an amazing shelf life outside of water? (I’m sure Craig’s microbiology would frown even more on that 🙂 )
      but these were harvested wednesday, overnight shipped and eaten Thursday…mmmm mmm good! If you ever come up this way I’ll make them if you trust my cooking!

      Like

      October 19, 2012
  2. It’s been awhile since I checked out your blog. Love the new header and layout!!! So cute! 🙂

    Like

    October 22, 2012

Leave a Reply

