Skip to content

I Like Cranberry Sauce?


Who knew! I’ve never been a fan of cranberry sauce. Or cranberries really. The only use I’ve ever had for them was stringing them along on thread with a needle and some popcorn on Thanksgiving night doing some family traditions to get ready for Christmas. (Yes my family sort of celebrates the holidays in conjunction. I like it that way.)

Regardless, every year on Thanksgiving my mom would open a can of cranberry sauce and I know a few people used it, but the only person who I ever remember actually asking for it was my brother Brandon.

20121105-070755.jpg

Roast Chicken

However when I knew I was making a Roast Chicken and stuffing on Saturday I figured I just ought to have cranberry sauce  to carry on the charade of eating Turkey better. (I really like Turkey and Chicken just doesn’t cut it.)

I broke out a new casserole pan and trussed my chicken then used a Julia Child recipe. It was good, had a nice crackling skin but could have been a lot better ( ex. if flavorings other than butter and salt were used!) so I’m not going to even allude to it here because I’m sure you have a better recipe (perhaps with Herbes de Provence?)

Like I said earlier I wanted something else to invoke the feelings and tastes of the holidays. But as I don’t like canned cranberries (nor does my husband) we don’t have any in the house. So I decided I’d make it up on my own.

20121105-070744.jpg

Bubbling Cranberries

Bottled Sunshine’s Citrus Cranberry Sauce

You will need: red cooking wine (or plain wine if you have it) – dried cranberries – sugar – water – one citrus fruit (I used a tangerine, but whatever sweet citrus you have on hand will work) – additional optional ingredients – lemon juice – orange juice

It produced about as much sauce as canned cranberry sauce, however it tastes better so I’m sure you’ll need more 🙂 There was enough to top 6 servings of chicken with.

In a small saucepan (mine holds one quart) pour in about 2 cups of the red wine.

Toss in a handful of dried cranberries (approx. 1 cup).

Add 1/2 cup of sugar and let the mixture heat up stirring occasionally while you peel the citrus and strip off the membrane breaking the remaining pulps mostly apart (don’t want big pieces) over a bowl to catch the juice.

Once all of the membrane is off add 1/4 cup of sugar and 1 cup of water to the bowl. Stir and add to the saucepan.

Taste and add more sugar if desired, if you prefer it more tart add a few drops of lemon juice, or to add a bit more orange (and thereby sweetness add a splash of orange juice)20121105-073231.jpg

Continue on high heat stirring to prevent sticking until the liquid has reduced in half. Take off the heat and place in your serving dish to cool while the rest of dinner finishes up. Just a reminder the sauce will thicken more as it cools!

Top your roast chicken, turkey, cheesecake, or other dessert with my delicious cranberry sauce. The swollen cranberries shimmer like jewels in the sauce and taste so good I probably ate a serving while it was cooking, oops!

If you give it a try let me know! It is sure to glam up your holiday table with minimal effort! (The kids can peel the fruit, or if you’d rather you could always sub canned mandarin oranges, just do me a favor and try it with the tangerine 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

