Skip to content

Snow Day! Or not.


Today was the first day in my life where there should have been a snow day, 20130116-073045.jpgor at least a two hour delay and I not only still had to go to work, but I woke up even earlier than usual. First the snow plows started driving by our house around 5 am, I fell back asleep though. Woke up when Bry’s alarm went off and drifted til he was about to leave. The snow plow sound hadn’t registered with me yet and I was blissfully unaware there were two or three inches of snow outside. He opened the bedroom door around 6:45 and said he was going to walk to work so I could have the car (meaning he wasn’t going to scooter like he usually does, I get told the night before if he is going to walk, and he leaves 45 minutes earlier). What? Walking is fine when the weather is good and you just want to stretch your legs because you sit behind a desk for work. But walk in the dark when it’s snowy out and someone is likely to hit you? I don’t think so. So I asked him to drive and told him I would walk. He said no. But then I insisted and said I’d never fall back asleep if he walked today. He said ok and went out to clear off the car.

Quick as a whip I hopped out of bed, through on some warm clothes and my snow boots and walked outside to help clear off the car. Of course, the gentleman he is wanted me to go back inside and get back to sleep. There was no way I was falling back asleep so I wanted to help. Besides, if I drive you to work then we can both take the ‘good’ car and nobody has to worry about anybody. He was much happier with that arrangement. And I’m really glad he was ok with that plan. The roads were not that great, and the sidewalks were still being shoveled by the city crew. He didn’t scooter and he’s there safe. I am now relaxing with my morning coffee, albeit early.

Driving in the snow/with a person with a backpack totally reminded me of being a kid (I was never that good at getting the school bus) and there were many times when we thought we made the bus, only to have to be driven by mom. Except in this scenario I was ‘mom’. And I didn’t do nearly as good of a job as Mom did on looking nice when driving someone to work/school. I almost drove him to work in my pjs/bathrobe/snowboots! But figured if I did that I’d get stuck and have to walk somewhere for help so prudently wore yogapants/sweatshirt/snowboots. Of course due to rolling out of bed I had my hood up the whole way (hiding the crazy bedhead = still gotta try to look nice for the husband) and now it’s cracking me up that I even tried to hide crazy hair with a hood. It could be argued that the car was still cold and I needed it for work. We both were wearing gloves after all. But I think I made his day and that’s all that matters.

I guess here is where I admit that I usually sleep in until 8. 8:30 isn’t uncommon. It was worth it, crazy hair-hidden-by-my-hood and all.

Ever drove somewhere with a crazy outfit/without shoes/hair hidden by a hood? I can’t be the only one 🙂

 

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Suzanne Wurster #

    ROFL!!! The only think I sure you did do was brush your teeth! I don’t think I have ever driven anywhere in my pj’s. I am glad that you both arrived to work safely today!

    Like

    January 16, 2013
    • Hahah. yes!! I did brush my teeth 🙂 and tamed my wild hair with a shower once I got home!

      Like

      January 16, 2013
  2. Suzanne Wurster #

    Glad for both Courtney! 🙂

    Like

    January 16, 2013

Leave a Reply

